Citation Response Procedure
On-Line Citation Payment
Now Available- Pay your Fine Online
Within 10 days of the date that a citation (ticket) is issued, you must either:
- Plead not guilty by submitting a parking citation appeal form and pay the fine to the Parking and DU Card Services Office.
- Plead guilty by forwarding the fine along with the citation to the Parking and DU Card Services Office. Make the check payable to "Duquesne University" and deliver to the Parking and DU Card Services Office or mail in the envelope provided. Be sure to include the citation.
If you mail your payment, the U.S. postmark will be used to determine if the payment arrived within the 10 day requirement.
If fines are not paid, your vehicle could be towed from the campus at your expense under Section 3353B and C of the Pennsylvania Motor Vehicle Code.
The Parking and DU Card Services Office will add $5 to any parking fine that is not paid within 30 days, as determined by the day that fines are received in our office, or the U.S. postmark (if mailed.)
All Commonwealth of Pennsylvania citations must be appealed through the district magistrate. The instructions are printed on the back of the citation. The Parking and DU Card Services Office cannot appeal or withdraw state citations.
You may appeal University citations through the Duquesne Citation Appeal Board. Pay the fine in advance and file the written appeal within 10 days. If the Board rules in your favor, the fine, or a portion of the fine, will be refunded to you. Both students and employees serve on the Appeal Board and their decision is final.
You can download an citation appeal form or pick one up at the Parking and DU Card Services Office. Detailed instructions are printed on the appeal form.