Center for Teaching Excellence

Murphy Building
600 Forbes Avenue 20 Chatham Square
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Email: cte@duq.edu
Phone: 412.396.5177

    A A Email Print Share

    Academic Learning Outcomes Assessment (ALOA) Committee

    The Academic Learning Outcomes Assessment (ALOA) Committee consists of faculty representatives from each school and Gumberg Library. We provide learning assessment support and resources through consulting, feedback on reports, workshops, and book studies.

    Presentations & Publications Related to Student Learning Assessment
    Duquesne University faculty and staff regularly do conference presentations and publish articles relevant to student learning outcomes assessment. If you have relevant citations to add, please contact us:
    CTE

    Dimensions of a Duquesne Education

    ALOA’s statement on Purpose and Principles of Assessment

    ALOA does not oversee learning assessment reporting, but we can help programs with this process.  University Assessment Process & Reporting

    ALOA meets on the second Tuesday of each month during the school year. Please contact your representative if you have questions or concerns that you would like to bring to our attention.

    Contact Us

    Committee Chairs

    Gumberg Library
    David Nolfi, Co-Chair
    Health Sciences Librarian
    412.396.4931
    nolfi@duq.edu

    Center for Teaching Excellence
    Laurel Willingham-McLain, Co-Chair
    Director, Faculty Dev't & Teaching Excellence
    412.396.5177
    willingham@duq.edu

    School Representatives

    Academic Affairs
    Alexandra Gregory
    Associate Provost
    412.396.4525
    gregorya@duq.edu

     

    College of Liberal Arts
    William Gibbs, Faculty
    Journalism & Multimedia Arts
    412.396.1310
    gibbsw@duq.edu

    Greg Barnhisel, Faculty
    Deptartment Chair
    English
    412.396.6432
    barnhiselg@duq.edu

    Law School
    Richard Gaffney
    Director of Bar Services
    412.396.1990
    gaffneyr@duq.edu

    School of Business
    Stephen Rau, Faculty
    412.396.6265
    rau@duq.edu

    School of Education
    Susan Munson
    Associate Dean & Faculty
    412.396.6097
    munson@duq.edu

    School of Health Sciences
    Matthew Kostek, Faculty
    Physical Therapy
    412.396.5546
    kostekm@duq.edu

    School of Leadership & Professional Advancement
    Vacant

    School of Music
    Elaine Abbott, Faculty
    412.396.5578
    abbotte1@duq.edu

    School of Natural and Environmental Sciences
    Sarah Woodley, Faculty
    Biological Sciences
    412.396.6320
    woodleys@duq.edu

    School of Nursing
    Joan Such Lockhart
    Associate Dean
    School of Nursing
    412.396.6540
    lockhart@duq.edu

    School of Pharmacy
    Monica Skomo, Faculty
    412.396.1809
    skomo172@duq.edu

    Consultant to ALOA
    Tammy Hughes, Faculty
    School Psychology
    412.396.5191
    hughest@duq.edu