A A Email Print Share

Academic Learning Outcomes Assessment (ALOA) Committee

The Academic Learning Outcomes Assessment (ALOA) Committee consists of faculty representatives from each school and Gumberg Library. We provide learning assessment support and resources through consulting, feedback on reports, workshops, and book studies.

NEW! FUNDING OPPORTUNITY
The Academic Learning Outcomes Assessment Committee (ALOA), with the support of the Office of the Provost, is offering a funding opportunity to assess student learning using tools developed by the Association of American Colleges & Universities Liberal Education (AAC&U). Read more

Presentations & Publications Related to Student Learning Assessment
Duquesne University faculty and staff regularly do conference presentations and publish articles relevant to student learning outcomes assessment. If you have relevant citations to add, please contact us: CTE

Dimensions of a Duquesne Education

ALOA’s statement on Purpose and Principles of Assessment

ALOA does not oversee learning assessment reporting, but we can help programs with this process.  University Assessment Process & Reporting

ALOA meets on the second Tuesday of each month during the school year. Please contact your representative if you have questions or concerns that you would like to bring to our attention.

Contact Us

Committee Chairs

Gumberg Library
David Nolfi, Co-Chair
Health Sciences Librarian
412.396.4931
nolfi@duq.edu

Center for Teaching Excellence
Laurel Willingham-McLain, Co-Chair
Director, Faculty Dev't & Teaching Excellence
412.396.5177
willingham@duq.edu

School Representatives

Academic Affairs
Alexandra Gregory
Associate Provost
412.396.4525
gregorya@duq.edu

 

College of Liberal Arts
Greg Barnhisel, Faculty
Department Chair
English
412.396.6432
barnhiselg@duq.edu

Law School
Richard Gaffney
Director of Bar Services
412.396.1990
gaffneyr@duq.edu

School of Business
Ryan Luchs, Faculty
412.396.6664
luchsr@duq.edu

School of Education
Susan Munson
Associate Dean & Faculty
412.396.6097
munson@duq.edu

School of Health Sciences
Matthew Kostek, Faculty
Physical Therapy
412.396.5546
kostekm@duq.edu

School of Pharmacy
Monica Skomo, Faculty
412.396.1809
skomo172@duq.edu

School of Music
Elaine Abbott, Faculty
412.396.5578
abbotte1@duq.edu

School of Natural and Environmental Sciences
Sarah Woodley, Faculty
Biological Sciences
412.396.6320
woodleys@duq.edu

School of Nursing
Alison Colbert
Associate Dean
School of Nursing
412.396.1511
colberta@duq.edu

Consultant to ALOA
Tammy Hughes, Faculty
School Psychology
412.396.5191
hughest@duq.edu