Department of English & Theater Arts

Nora McBurney, Administrative Assistant
637 College Hall
600 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Email: mcburne655@duq.edu
Phone: 412.396.6420
Fax: 412.396.1112

Department News and Events

Summer/Fall Pre-registration begins

Monday, March 24

Third Annual Duquesne Art Show

Tuesday, March 25

Visiting Speaker:  Jim Daniels

Wednesday, April 2

Dissertation Presentation: 
Shreyashi Mukherjee

Friday, April 4

Coffee House Reading Series

Wednesday, April 9

Red Masquers:  Strindberg One Acts

April 9-13

Dissertation Presentation:
Becky Cepek

Friday, April 11

Easter Break

April 17-21  (Offices open on April 21)

Red Masquers:  One Acts for Charity

April 23-26

Reading Day

Tuesday, April 29

Final Exams

April 30-May 6

Graduation

Friday, May 9

Please see the News and Events page for exciting faculty news and information on these
upcoming events.

A A Email Print Share

Faculty & Staff

Spring 2014 Faculty Office Hours

Full-Time Faculty

 

Anthony Adams, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medieval Literature, Old & Middle English, Lit. Theory 
412.396.6438
631B College Hall 
adamsa8@duq.edu 

 

barnhiselGreg Barnhisel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, Modernism
Department Chair
412.396.6432
637C College Hall
barnhiselg@duq.edu

 

Faith Barrett, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Nineteenth C. American Studies, Twentieth C. American Poetry, Modern Lyric Poetry
412.396.5165
628 College Hall 
barrettf@duq.edu 

 

 

begnalMichael Begnal, M.F.A.

Instructor of Writing
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
begnalm@duq.edu

 

Linda CallananLaura Callanan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Victorian Literature & Culture, Literary Theory
412.396.1278
631A College Hall
callananl@duq.edu

 

Ava CipriAva Cipri, M.F.A.

Instructor of Writing
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
cipria@duq.edu

 

Laura EngelLaura Engel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Restoration & Eighteenth C. Literatures, Dramatic Literature, Feminist Theory

Director of Women's and Gender Studies
412.396.1425
632A College Hall
engell784@duq.edu

 

John FriedJohn Fried, M.F.A., M.A.

Assistant Professor
412.396.6428
624 College Hall
friedj@duq.edu

 

 

Kathy Glass, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
African-American Literature, Women's Studies

Director of Undergraduate Studies
412.396.1424
629 College Hall
glassk@duq.edu

 

Susan HowardSusan K. Howard, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
The Novel, British Literature of the Long Eighteenth C.
412.396.6441
622 College Hall
howard@duq.edu

 

Linda KinnahanLinda Arbaugh Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Professor
Twentieth C. American & British Poetry, Feminist Theory

412.396.6440
623 College Hall
kinnahan@duq.edu

 

TKinnahanThomas P. Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
American LIterature

412.396.6439
630A College Hall
kinnahant@duq.edu

 

klucevsekKristin Klucevsek, Ph.D.

Instructor of Science Writing
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
klucevsekk@duq.edu 

 

KurlandStuart M. Kurland, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Literature of the English Renaissance, Shakespeare

412.396.6424
621 College Hall
kurland@duq.edu

 


LaneJohn E. Lane, Jr., M.A.

Associate Professor
Director of Theater Arts

412.396.6429
632A/B College Hall
lanej@duq.edu

 

Jessica McCortJessica McCort, Ph.D.

Instructor of Writing
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
mccortj@duq.edu

 

Magali MichaelMagali Cornier Michael, Ph.D.

Professor
Contemporary British & American Fiction, Feminist Theory

Director of Graduate Studies
412.396.5560
626 College Hall
michael@duq.edu

 

Emad Mirmotahari, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
African, African-American, & black diasporic literatures, World Literature

630B College Hall
mirmotaharie@duq.edu


 

James PurdyJames P. Purdy, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Rhetoric & Composition, Writing & Technology
Director of the University Writing Center

412.396.1293
620 College Hall
purdyj@duq.edu

 

Danielle St HilaireDanielle A. St. Hilaire, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
British Renaissance Poetry, Milton

Interim-Director of First-Year Writing
412.396.6435
632B College Hall
sthilaired@duq.edu
(Sabbatical - Spring 2014)

 

Judy SuhJudy Suh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
British Modernism, Postcolonial Theory
 
412.396.1426
619 College Hall
suhj@duq.edu

 

ussiaMatthew Ussia, Ph.D.

Instructor of Writing
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
ussiam@duq.edu

 

 

 

Frederick Newberry, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
American Literature
newberryf@duq.edu

 

Adjunct Faculty

 

Philip Anselmo
412.396.6431
630 College Hall
anselmop@duq.edu 

 

benjamin

Clint Benjamin
412.396.6431
630 College Hall
benjaminc@duq.edu

 

 

 

chesterAndrea Chester
412.396.6431
630 College Hall
chestera@duq.edu

 

 

 

clarkRichard Clark, Ph.D.
clarkr@duq.edu 

 

 

 

Tricia Dituro
637F College Hall
diturot@duq.edu

gentryNicholas Gentry
gentryn@duq.edu

 

 

 

gipkoChristine Gipko
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
gipkoc@duq.edu

 

 

 

houghton

Paul Houghton, Ph.D.
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
houghtonp@duq.edu

 

 

jonesBettina Jones, Ph.D.
637F College Hall
jonesb@duq.edu 

 

 

 

 

Susan Kelley
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
kelleystamerras@duq.edu

Julie Kloo, Ph.D.
klooj@duq.edu

loveNancy Love
412.396.5873
623A College Hall
loven@duq.edu

 

 

 

manningJon Manning
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
manningj951@duq.edu

 

 

mertzRebecca Mertz
mertzr@duq.edu

 

 

 

poteetMark Poteet, Ph.D.
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
poteetw@duq.edu

 

 

  

Madhuchhanda Ray Choudhury
412.396.4111
639A College Hall
choudhu6698@duq.edu

Emily Rodgers
412.396.6431
630 College Hall






Todd Rozell
412.396.6431
630 College Hall
rozell996@duq.edu

SowardsRobin Sowards, Ph.D.
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
sowardsr@duq.edu

 

 

Erin Veith
412.396.6431
630 College Hall
veithe@duq.edu

Timothy Vincent, Ph.D.
vincent841@duq.edu

lwilliamsLorena Williams
637F College Hall
willia59@duq.edu

 

 

 

wolfLaurin Wolf
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
wolfl1@duq.edu

 

 

 

Teaching Assistants

All Teaching Assistants are located in 639A College Hall.

 

Lindsey Albracht
albrachtl@duq.edu


 




bienasKatelyn Bienas
bienask@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

butcherIan Butcher
butcheri@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Robert Craven
cravenr@duq.edu 

 

durkinMatthew Durkin
durkinm@duq.edu

 

 

  

heilmanMatthew Heilman
heilmanm@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

higaJade Higa
higaj@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

kunsaAshley Kunsa
kunsaa@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

lennoxEthan Lennox
lennoxe@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Rebekah Lynn
lynnr1@duq.edu

 

Christopher Maverick
maverickc@duq.edu 

 

panutsosMarcie Panutsos Rovan
panutsos824@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Will Powell
powellw1@duq.edu

 

Cheryl Read
readc@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

reznikAlexandra Reznik
reznika@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

richterShannon Richter
richters@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

stoyanoffJeff Stoyanoff
stoyanoffj@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Johanna Sullivan
sulliv16@duq.edu

tavelaSara Tavela
tavelas@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Lisa Weddell
weddell1@duq.edu

 

Bryon Williams
willia47@duq.edu

 David Young
youngd4@duq.edu

 






Staff

 

Nora McBurney
Administrative Assistant
412.396.6420
412.396.1112 (fax)
637 College Hall
mcburne655@duq.edu

 

Robert Hein
Graduate Assistant
heinr@duq.edu