Department of English & Theater Arts

Nora McBurney, Administrative Assistant
637 College Hall
600 Forbes Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Email: mcburne655@duq.edu
Phone: 412.396.6420
Fax: 412.396.1112

Department News and Events

Matriculation

Wednesday, August 19

UCOR Orientation

Thursday, August 20

English Graduate Organization Orientation and Reception

Friday, August 21

Fall 2015 semester begins

Monday, August 24

Genesius Theater Dedication Ceremony

Tuesday, August 25

Last day for drop/add

Friday, August 28

Dissertation Presentation:  Jeff Stoyanoff

Thursday, September 3

Labor day: No classes, office closed

Monday, September 7

Convocation

Thursday, September 10

Colloquium

Friday, September 11

Poetry Reading: Cynthia Hogue and Elizabeth Savage

Monday, September 21

Visiting Speaker: Ruth Evans

Thursday, October 1

Death of a Salesman
*First Production in new Genesius Theater!*

October 1-18

Graduate Recruitment Event

October 9

English and History Department "Study Abroad Week"

October 12-16

Midterm Exams

October 12-16

Please see the News and Events page for exciting faculty news and information on these
upcoming events.

A A Email Print Share

Faculty & Staff

Fall 2015 Faculty Office Hours

English Faculty

 

adamsAnthony Adams, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medieval Literature, Old & Middle English, Lit. Theory 
412.396.6438
631B College Hall 
adamsa8@duq.edu 

 

barnhiselGreg Barnhisel, Ph.D.

Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, Modernism
Department Chair
412.396.6432
637C College Hall
barnhiselg@duq.edu

 

Faith Barrett, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Nineteenth C. American Studies, Twentieth C. American Poetry, Modern Lyric Poetry
412.396.5165
628 College Hall 
barrettf@duq.edu 

  

cepekRebecca Cepek, Ph.D.

Full-Time Instructor of Writing
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
cepekr@duq.edu

  

Ava CipriAva Cipri, M.F.A.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
cipria@duq.edu

 

Laura EngelLaura Engel, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Restoration & Eighteenth C. Literatures, Dramatic Literature, Feminist Theory
Director of Graduate Studies

412.396.1425
632A College Hall
engell784@duq.edu

 

John FriedJohn Fried, M.F.A., M.A.

Associate Professor
Fiction/Creative Writing, Film Studies

412.396.6428
624 College Hall
friedj@duq.edu

 

gibson Anna Gibson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
19th Century British Fiction

412.396.6431
630 College Hall
gibsona@duq.edu

Kathy Glass, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
African-American Literature, Women's Studies

412.396.1424
629 College Hall
glassk@duq.edu

 

Susan HowardSusan K. Howard, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
The Novel, British Literature of the Long Eighteenth C.
412.396.6441
622 College Hall
howard@duq.edu

 

Linda KinnahanLinda Arbaugh Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Professor
Twentieth C. American & British Poetry, Feminist Theory

412.396.6440
623 College Hall
kinnahan@duq.edu

 

TKinnahanThomas P. Kinnahan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
American LIterature

412.396.6439
630A College Hall
kinnahant@duq.edu

kishbaughJustin Kishbaugh, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
kishbaughj@duq.edu 

 

klucevsekKristin Klucevsek, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Science Writing
412.396.6427
631 College Hall
klucevsekk@duq.edu 

 

KurlandStuart M. Kurland, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Literature of the English Renaissance, Shakespeare

412.396.6424
621 College Hall
kurland@duq.edu

martinJeff Martin, M.F.A.

Full-Time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
martin15@duq.edu

mayRebecca May, Ph.D.

Full-Time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4115
627 College Hall
mayr1@duq.edu

  

michaelMagali Cornier Michael, Ph.D.

Professor
Contemporary British & American Fiction, Feminist Theory

412.396.5560
626 College Hall
michael@duq.edu

 

Emad Mirmotahari, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
African, African-American, & black diasporic literatures, World Literature

630B College Hall
mirmotaharie@duq.edu

 

James PurdyJames P. Purdy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Rhetoric & Composition, Writing & Technology
Director of the University Writing Center
412.396.1293
620 College Hall
purdyj@duq.edu

 

speeseErin Johns Speese, Ph.D.

Full-time Instructor of Writing
412.396.1531
632 College Hall
speesee@duq.edu

stinnettJerry Stinnett, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Composition, Rhetoric, Literacy, Critical University Studies
Director of First-Year Writing
412.396.6433
637E College Hall
stinnettj@duq.edu

Danielle St HilaireDanielle A. St. Hilaire, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
British Renaissance Poetry, Milton

Director of Undergraduate Studies
412.396.6435
632B College Hall
sthilaired@duq.edu

 

Judy SuhJudy Suh, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
British Modernism, Postcolonial Theory
 
412.396.1426
619 College Hall
suhj@duq.edu   

                   

ussiaMatthew Ussia, Ph.D.           

Full-Time Instructor of Writing
412.396.4643
625 College Hall
ussiam@duq.edu                            

                                                                                                                                             

wrightSarah Breckenridge Wright, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Medieval and Early Modern Literature, History of the English Language
412.396.1278
631A College Hall
wrights3@duq.edu

 

Frederick Newberry, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
American Literature
newberryf@duq.edu

Daniel Watkins, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Romanticism
watkins@duq.edu

Theater Arts Faculty and Staff

laneJohn E. Lane, Jr., M.A.

Associate Professor
Director of Theater Arts
412.396.6429
623A/B College Hall
lanej@duq.edu

sinesJustin Sines

Technical Director, Genesius Theater
412.396.3237
Genesius Theater, Room B03
sines908@duq.edu

Adjunct Faculty 

benjamin

Clint Benjamin
309 College Hall
benjaminc@duq.edu

 

 

  

houghton

Paul Houghton, Ph.D.
309 College Hall
houghtonp@duq.edu

 

 

jones

Bettina Jones, Ph.D.
309 College Hall
jonesb@duq.edu 

 

love

Nancy Love
623A College Hall
loven@duq.edu

 

 

 

manning

Jon Manning
310 College Hall
manningj951@duq.edu
412.396.2642

 

 

poteet

Mark Poteet, Ph.D.
310 College Hall
poteetw@duq.edu
412.396.2642

 

Todd Rozell
333 College Hall
rozell996@duq.edu
412.396.2647

Rose-Anne Vigilante
623 A/B College Hall
vigilanter@duq.edu

vincent

Timothy Vincent, Ph.D.
331 College Hall
vincent841@duq.edu
412.396.2646

 

 

Teaching Assistants

All Teaching Assistants are located in 639A College Hall.

 

Marla Anzalone
anzalon1@duq.edu

baranowski

Kelly Baranowski
baranowskik@duq.edu

John Hadlock
hadlockj@duq.edu

Sarah Hancock
hancocks@duq.edu

heilman

Matthew Heilman
heilmanm@duq.edu

 

 

 

Allison Keene
keenea1@duq.edu
 

  

Christopher Maverick
maverickc@duq.edu 

 

Marissa Mosley
mosleym@duq.edu

powell

Will Powell
powellw1@duq.edu

 

Cheryl Read
readc@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

reznik

Alexandra Reznik
reznika@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Josie Rush
rushj@duq.edu

Whitney Sandin
sandinw@duq.edu

tavela

Sara Tavela
tavelas@duq.edu

 

 

 

 

Lisa Weddell
weddell1@duq.edu

 

David Young
youngd4@duq.edu

 






Staff

 

Nora McBurney
Administrative Assistant
412.396.6420
412.396.1112 (fax)
637 College Hall
mcburne655@duq.edu

 

Anna Harp
Graduate Assistant
harpa@duq.edu