Philosophy Department

303 College Hall
600 Forbes Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15282
Phone: 412 396 6500
Fax: 412 396 5353

Ron Polansky
Chair
polansky@duq.edu
sabbatical, July 2016–June 2017

Thérèse Bonin
Acting Chair
bonin@duq.edu

Daniel Selcer
Director of Graduate Studies
selcerd@duq.edu

Michael Harrington
Director of Undergraduate Studies
harringtonm@duq.edu

Joan Thompson
Administrative Assistant
thompson@duq.edu

A A Email Print Share

Graduate Students in Philosophy

Current Graduate Students 2015–16

(Contact philprint@duq.edu for updates)

Name

E-mail

Areas of Interest

Gizem Atalay atalayg@duq.edu Metaphysics, Enlightenment and metaphilosophy
Colin Bodayle bodaylec@duq.edu
Nicholas Brown brownn2@duq.edu Lacan and the history of psychoanalysis, Nietzsche, Heidegger, 20th-century Analytic philosophy, literary and critical theory, logic
Adam Burnfin burnfina@duq.edu

Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Hegel, Marx, Freud, Deleuze

Thomas Cantone cantonet@duq.edu German Idealism (esp Kant, Hegel) and Romanticism, the German Enlightenment and its critics, Critical Theory, Marx, post-modernity and post-modern literature, Jameson, Brecht
Roland Carspecken carspeckenr@duq.edu 19th-century and contemporary French and German philosophy: on language, communication, intersubjectivity and social theory
Albert Carver carvera@duq.edu
Anthony Celi celia@duq.edu Epistemology, ethics, political philosophy (esp. anarchism)
Travis Dandy dandyt@duq.edu
Magdalena Figiel figielm@duq.edu Early modern philosophy, history and philosophy of science, some ancient Greek philosophy
Alexander Gorman gormana2@duq.edu Phenomenology, psychoanalysis, and deconstruction
Adam Grondin grondina@duq.edu
Devon Hawkins hawkinsd@duq.edu
Aaron Higgins-Brake higginsbrakea@duq.edu Ancient and medieval philosophy (esp. Neoplatonism)
Michael Kramer kramerm1@duq.edu Philosophy of mysticism and religious experience; consciousness studies; phenomenology, existentialism, hermeneutics; rhetoric, literary theory and criticism
Jeff Lambert lambert2@duq.edu Early modern philosophy, contemporary French philosophy, questions of intimacy, philosophy of gender, race, and sexuality
Mackenzie Lefoster lefosterm@duq.edu
Ellen Moysan moysane@duq.edu Phenomenology, French and German contemporary philosophy, hermeneutics, philosophy of music, psychoanalysis
Jiho Oh ohj1@duq.edu German idealism, contemporary French philosophy, post-modern ontology, modern and contemporary ethics
Mine Sak sakm@duq.edu
Luke Schumacher schumac1@duq.edu Ontology, materialism, philosophy of problems; a dispersed group of philosophers, Heidegger most intensively
Zachary Slanger slangerz@duq.edu Philosophy of sex and sexuality, German idealism (esp. Schelling and Hegel), French existential phenomenology (esp. Sartre and de Beauvoir), psychoanalysis (esp. Freud, Ferenczi, Lacan, and Laplanche), queer theory, feminist philosophy, philosophy and literature, pessimism/tragedy in philosophy
Frank Smecker smeckerf@duq.edu German idealism, psychoanalysis, structuralism, film & literature studies and the narrative form
Jacob Smith smithj40@duq.edu
Josh Sturman Social political philosophy (esp. Marxism, feminism, post-colonial studies), existentialism (esp. Heidegger, Buber), Plato, virtue ethics
Joe Tighe tighej@duq.edu
Ryne Tobar tobarr@duq.edu History of philosophy, political philosophy, existentialism, critical theory
Trey Weise weisef@duq.edu Philosophy of art, hermeneutics, and post-structuralism
Kimberly Zwez zwezk@duq.edu Phenomenology (Husserl, Heidegger), philosophy of religion (esp. Kant, Hegel, and Nietzsche), history of modern philosophy, philosophy of logic
Ph.D. Candidates
C. Dominic Alvarado alvaradoc@duq.edu Catholic philosophy, German idealism, and phenomenology, especially Aquinas, Kant, Hegel, and Heidegger
Thomas Ball ballt1@duq.edu Ancient philosophy and the intersection of theory and practice
Karim Barakat barakatk@duq.edu History of political philosophy, critiques of liberalism, Foucault, contemporary Arabic philosophy
Joy Bradley simmonsj1799@duq.edu Critical philosophies of race
Paul DiGeorgio digeorgiop@duq.edu 19th- and 20th-century French and German Philosophy: epistemology, and phenomenology
Minglai Dong dongm@duq.edu Phenomenology, semiotics, and Confucian ethics
Derek Elliott elliottd@duq.edu
Jacob Greenstine greenstinea@duq.edu Ancient philosophy (esp. Aristotle’s theoretical philosophy), German idealism (esp. Hegel), early modern sciences, and contemporary materialisms and realisms
Justin Habash habashj@duq.edu Ancient philosophy (esp. the Presocratics), early modern philosophy, and applied ethics
Boram Jeong jeongb@duq.edu Contemporary French philosophy (Bergson, Deleuze), subjectivity, temporality, philosophy of gender and race
Andrew Jussaume jussaumea@duq.edu Schelling and German idealism
Fr. François Kodena kodenaf@duq.edu Political philosophy, Kemetic Maatism, Egyptology, Afrosofia, philosophical corporeality, and history of philosophy
Martin Krahn krahnm@duq.edu German idealism, philosophy of nature, Marx and Marxism, history and philosophy of science
Fergus Laughland laughlandf@duq.edu
Peter Libbey libbeyp@duq.edu German idealism, contemporary French philosophy, and intercultural philosophy
Matthew Lovett lovettm@duq.edu Deleuze, Hegel, Lacan & psychoanalysis, philosophy of art, feminist & queer theory
Tristana Martin-Rubio martinrubiot@duq.edu Phenomenology
Michael Mburu mburum@duq.edu African philosophy (ethics), Aristotle, Aquinas and Lonergan
Sila Ozkara ozkaras@duq.edu German idealism, early modern philosophy, theories of cognition, language
Ariana Ragusa ragusaa@duq.edu Vico
Alessio Rotundo rotundoa@duq.edu Phenomenology (Husserl, Heidegger, Merleau-Ponty), contemporary hermeneutics (Gadamer)
Norman Schultz schultzn@duq.edu Hegel and German idealism
Bethany Somma sommab@duq.edu Platonism, Arabic philosophy, Nietzsche, philosophy and adoption
Evan Strevell strevelle@duq.edu Ancient philosophy, memory, ethics, history of philosophy
James Taylor taylorj1801@duq.edu Critical philosophies of race and gender, philosophy of technology, Heidegger, and divine command theory
Bradley Van Uden vanudenb@duq.edu Plato, Aristotle
Kelsey Ward wardk1@duq.edu Ancient Greek and Roman philosophy
Paul Zipfel zipfelp@duq.edu Phenomenology, intersubjectivity, forgiveness, and evil