A A Email Print Share

Graduate Students in Philosophy

Additional Information about Graduate Students

Current Graduate Students 2015-2016

(Contact philprint@duq.edu for updates)

Name

E-mail

Areas of Interest

Gizem Atalay atalayg@duq.edu Metaphysics, Enlightenment and Metaphilosophy
Nicholas Brown brownn2@duq.edu Lacan and the history of psychoanalysis; Nietzsche; Heidegger; 20th C. Analytic philosophy; Literary and critical theory; Logic.
Adam Burnfin burnfina@duq.edu

Plato, Aristotle, Kant, Hegel, Marx, Freud, Deleuze

Thomas Cantone cantonet@duq.edu German Idealism (esp Kant, Hegel) and Romanticism; the German Enlightenment and its critics; Critical Theory; Marx; Post-modernity and post-modern literature; Jameson; Brecht
Anthony Celi celia@duq.edu Epistemology, Ethics, Political Philosophy (esp. Anarchism)
Roland Carspecken Carspeckenr@duq.edu 19th Century and Contemporary French and German Philosophy: On Language, Communication, intersubjectivity and Social Theory.
Alexander Crist Crista@duq.edu Translation and Philosophy, Philosophy and Literary Theory, Hermeneutics, Psychoanalysis, Postmodernism.
Tylor Cunningham Cunnin21@duq.edu Plato, Virtue Ethics, and Medieval Philosophy.
Magdalena Figiel figielm@duq.edu Early Modern Philosophy; History and Philosophy of Science; some Ancient Greek Philosophy
Alexander Gorman gormana2@duq.edu Phenomenology, Psychoanalysis, and Deconstruction.
Aaron Higgins-Brake higginsbrakea@duq.edu Ancient and Medieval Philosophy (esp. Neoplatonism)
Fr. Francois Kodena kodenaf@duq.edu Political Philosophy, Kemetic Maatism, Egyptology, Afrosofia, Philosophical Corporeality, and History of Philosophy.
Michael Kramer kramerm1@duq.edu Philosophy of Mysticism and Religious Experience; Consciousness Studies; Phenomenology, Existentialism, Hermeneutics; Rhetoric, Literary Theory and Criticism
Jeff Lambert Lambert2@duq.edu Early modern philosophy, contemporary French philosophy, questions of intimacy, philosophy of gender, race, and sexuality.
Tristana Martin-Rubio martinrubiot@duq.edu Phenomenology.
Benjamin Maynard Maynard1@duq.edu Sartrean Existentialism, Psychoanalysis, Selfhood/Autonomy.
Michael Mburu mburum@duq.edu African Philosophy (Ethics), Aristotle, Aquinas and Lonergan.
Ellen Moysan moysane@duq.edu Phenomenology, French and German Contemporary Philosophy, Hermeneutics, Philosophy of Music, Psychoanalysis
Jiho Oh ohj1@duq.edu German Idealism, Contemporary French Philosophy, Post--modern Ontology, Modern and Contemporary Ethics.
Alessio Rotundo rotundoa@duq.edu Phenomenology and contemporary hermeneutics (Husserl, Heidegger, Merleau-Ponty, Nietzsche, Gadamer, Vattimo).
Luke Schumacher schumac1@duq.edu Ontology, Materialism, Philosophy of Problems; a dispersed group of philosophers, Heidegger most intensively.
Zachary Slanger slangerz@duq.edu Philosophy of Sex and Sexuality; German Idealism (esp. Schelling and Hegel); French Existential Phenomenology (esp. Sartre and de Beauvoir); Psychoanalysis (esp. Freud, Ferenczi, Lacan, and Laplanche); Queer Theory; Feminist Philosophy; Philosophy and Literature; Pessimism/Tragedy in Philosophy.
Frank Smecker Smeckerf@duq.edu German Idealism, Psychoanalysis, Structuralism, Film & Literature Studies and the Narrative Form.
Josh Sturman sturmanj@duq.edu Social Political Philosophy (esp. Marxism, Feminism, Post-Colonial Studies), Existentialism (esp. Heidegger, Buber), Plato, Virtue Ethics
Ryne Tobar tobarr@duq.edu History of Philosophy, Political Philosophy, Existentialism, Critical Theory.
Bradley Van Uden vanudenb@duq.edu Plato, Aristotle.
Trey Weise weisef@duq.edu Philosophy of Art, Hermeneutics, and Post-Structuralism.
Kimberly Zwez zwezk@duq.edu Phenomenology (Husserl, Heidegger); Philosophy of Religion (esp. Kant, Hegel, and Nietzsche); History of Modern Philosophy; Philosophy of Logic.

ABD Students

Stephanie Adair

adairs@duq.edu German Idealism, Epistemology, Feminist Theory
C. Dominic Alvarado alvaradoc@duq.edu Catholic Philosophy, German Idealism, and Phenomenology, especially Aquinas, Kant, Hegel, and Heidegger.
Jim Bahoh bahohj@duq.edu Deleuze, Heidegger, Contemporary Ontology, History of Philosophy.
Thomas Ball ballt1@duq.edu Ancient Philosophy and the Intersection of Theory and Practice

Karim Barakat

barakatk@duq.edu History of Political Philosophy, Critiques of Liberalism, Foucault,
Contemporary Arabic Philosophy

Joy Bradley

simmonsj1799@duq.edu Critical Philosophies of Race
Paul di Georgio digeorgiop@duq.edu 19th-20th C. French and German Philosophy: epistemology, and phenomenology.
Minglai Dong dongm@duq.edu Phenomenology, Semiotics, and Confucius Ethics
Derek Elliott elliottd@duq.edu
Jacob Greenstine greenstinea@duq.edu Ancient philosophy (esp. Aristotle's theoretical philosophy), German Idealism (esp. Hegel), early modern Sciences, and contemporary materialisms and realisms.
Justin Habash habashj@duq.edu Ancient Philosophy (esp. the Presocratics), Early Modern Philosophy, and Applied Ethics
Boram Jeong jeongb@duq.edu Contemporary French Philosophy (Bergson, Deleuze), subjectivity, temporality, Philosophy of Gender and Race.
Andrew Jussaume jussaumea@duq.edu Schelling and German Idealism
Martin Krahn krahnm@duq.edu German Idealism, Philosophy of Nature, Marx and Marxism, History and Philosophy of Science
Fergus Laughland laughlandf@duq.edu
Peter Libbey libbeyp@duq.edu German Idealism, contemporary French philosophy, and intercultural philosophy
Matthew Lovett lovettm@duq.edu Deleuze, Hegel, Lacan & Psychoanalysis, German Idealism, Philosophy of Art, Women's & Gender Studies.
Sila Ozkara ozkaras@duq.edu German Idealism, Early Modern Philosophy, Theories of Cognition, Language.
Ariana Ragusa ragusaa@duq.edu Vico
Nalan Saraç saracn@duq.edu Ethics, political philosophy, history of philosophy, Kant.
Norman Schultz schultzn@duq.edu Hegel and German Idealism
Bethany Somma sommab@duq.edu Platonism, Arabic Philosophy, Nietzsche, Philosophy and Adoption
Evan Strevell strevelle@duq.edu Ancient Philosophy, Memory, Ethics, History of Philosophy
James Taylor taylorj1801@duq.edu Critical Philosophies of Race and Gender, Philosophy of Technology, Martin Heidegger, and Divine Command Theory.
Luke Trusso trussol@duq.edu Environmental Philosophy, Nietzsche, Existentialism, Aesthetics
Matt Valentine valentine944@duq.edu Kant, French Continental Philosophy, Subjectivity and the Science of the Subject.
Kelsey Ward wardk1@duq.edu Ancient Greek and Roman philosophy
Paul Zipfel zipfelp@duq.edu Phenomenology, Intersubjectivity, Forgiveness, and Evil

Additional Information about Graduate Students