Dr. Jennie Schulze prepares for a lecture with undergraduate students.

A A Email Print Share

Major in Political Science


Majors take 30 credits of political science courses, including both required and elective courses. Majors must receive a grade of C or higher in all 30 credits.

Required Courses (15 credits)

• POSC 105: American National Government
• POSC 208 or 209: Comparative Political Systems
• POSC 245: International Relations
• POSC 298: Introduction to Political Analysis*
• POSC 317 or 318: Western Political Thought I or II

*Students who declared their major prior to Fall 2015 may fulfill this requirement by taking either POSC 298, 427 or 436W.

Elective Courses (15 credits)

  • any political science courses (other than required courses)
  • for students choosing a concentration, 12 of the 15 elective credits must come from the list of approved concentration courses.
  • at least 3 of the 15 credits must be at the 400 level and must be taken for a grade, not P/F (POSC 430: Internship in Practical Politics does not meet this requirement).
  • no more than 3 elective credits may be at the 100 level.


Political science majors may choose from the following three concentrations which will appear on transcripts along with the major.

Law & Politics
• American Politics & Policy (available for Fall 2016)
• International Politics (available for Fall 2016)

Political science majors are not required to have a concentration. However, to show graduate schools/employers that you focused on a particular area of political science, a concentration is ideal. For the list of approved concentrations courses, click here.

Declaring Your Major in Political Science

Use this link to log into DORI and complete the Major/Minor Declaration Form.

(Log into DORI > index> Liberal Arts> Resources for Undergraduate Students >Major/Minor Declaration Form.)