A A Email Print Share

Eleanore Holveck Essay Contest

Congratulations to the 2015 Essay Contest Winners

Rachel Willis, an undergraduate Sophomore Public Relations & Advertising major, for her essay, "The Woman with the Dark Eyes: The Impact of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict on the Palestinian Women's Movement," which was written for Dr. Emad Mirmotahari's Honors Inquiry course.

Will Powell, a doctoral student in the English Department and a WGS Graduate Certificate student, for his essay, "'It means I don't know what I am': Christological Liminality in Disability and Queerness," which was written for Dr. Elisabeth Vasko's Christology from the Margins course.

We also thank Drs. Laura Engel, Moni McIntyre, and Julia Sienkewicz, for volunteering to serve as judges of this contest.

Each spring the Center for Women's and Gender Studies honors one undergraduate and one graduate student with the Eleanore Holveck Essay Award. This award is given to students for essays that follow the submission guidelines and that most effectively and proficiently advance a conversation about women's, gender, or sexuality studies. Winners of this contest receive a certificate and monetary award and are announced at our annual Spring Reception.

Past Undergraduate Student Recipients

2014 Award Winner: Amy Dick, "Sheridan's Commentary on Gender Roles in The Memoirs of Sidney Bidulph"

2013 Award Winner: Sarah Farbacher, "A Kiss That Crosses Time: An Analysis of the Kiss(es) in Michael Cunningham's The Hours"

2012 Award Winner: Katelyn Bienas, "'Double Image,' Double Standards: Gender Roles in the Poetry of Anne Sexton"

2011 Award Winner: Michelle Raley, "Jane Austen's Treatment of Silence: Pride and Prejudice vs. Mansfield Park"

2010 Award Winner: Dacey McGinty, "Independent Girls...Unless They Have a Boy"

2009 Award Winner: Maria K. Barron, "The Sacred Mother: The Showings of Julian of Norwich and Redemption of the Female in Medieval Literature"

2008 Award Winner: Brian Tierney, "Deadwood, Language, and the Engendered Myth of the Old West"

Past Graduate Student Recipients

2014 Award Winner: Sugandh Dixit, "Whose Body Am I Living In?"

2013 Award Winner: Jessica Patella Konig, "Francis Bacon on Nature: The Secret, the Erotic, the Dominated"

2012 Award Winner: Melissa Wehler, "The Public Jordan: Actresses, Caricatures, and Chamber Pots in the Eighteenth Century"

2011 Award Winner: Marcie Panutsos, "Naming the Unspeakable: Constructions of Multicultural Identity in The Woman Warrior"

2010 Award Winner: Matt Lovett, "The Flesh of the Feminine? Merleau-Ponty and Irigaray"

2010 Honorable Mention: Amy Criniti Phillips, "'I want to serve two masters': Mary Elizabeth Braddon's Revision of the Female Consumer in The Doctor's Wife"

2009 Award Winner: Mary J. Parish, "9/11 and the Limitations of the 'Man's Man' Construction of Masculinity in Don DeLillo's Falling Man"

2009 Honorable Mention: Megan M. Kelly, "Gender vs. Race: Constructing Conflict and Perpetuating Racial Patriarchy"

2008 Award Winner: Amy Taylor, "Locating Feminine Gender Identity: Questioning Primary Femininity"