A A Email Print Share

Biological Sciences Graduate Faculty Directory

Chair

Dr. Joseph R. McCormick
Chair and Associate Professor
Genetic dissection of prokaryotic cytokinesis.

201 Mellon Hall
Office Phone: 412.396.4775
Dept. Secretary Phone: 412.396.6332
Dept. Fax: 412.396.5907
Email: mccormick@duq.edu

Research Areas: Bacteriology, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Genetics, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Molecular, Cellular and Integrative Biosciences

Faculty

Dr. Philip E. Auron
Professor
Eukaryotic gene regulation and signal transduction.

Office Phone: 412.396.5657
Email: auronp@duq.edu
Website: www.scienceresearch.duq.edu/bio/biofac/pauron/

Research Areas: Behavior, Cell Biology, Cell Signaling, Developmental Biology, Genomics, Molecular Biology, Non-Infectious Diseases, Physiology, Systems Biology, Theoretical and Computational Biology

Dr. Peter Castric
Professor

Glycosylation of Pseudomonas aeruginosa pili.

Office Phone: 412.396.6319
Email: castric@duq.edu

Research Areas: Bacteriology, Biomedical Biology, Bioinformatics, Microbiology, Molecular Biology

Dr. Jan Janecka

Dr. Jan E. Janecka
Assistant Professor
Genomics and conservation biology. 

Office Phone: 412.396.5640
Email: janeckaj@duq.edu

Research Areas: Bioinformatics, Evolutionary Biology, Genetics, Genomics, Phylogenetics, Population Genetics

Dr. Benedict Kolber
Assistant Professor
Brain control of pain and stress.

Office Phone: 412.396.5615
Email: kolberb@duq.edu
Website: www.kolberlab.com

Research Areas: Behavior, Biomedical Biology, Neurobiology, Pain, Phylogenetics, Physiology, Systems Biology

Dr. David Lampe
Director, Graduate Program in Biological Sciences
Associate Professor

Microbial control of insect transmitted diseases.

Office Phone: 412.396.6322
Email: lampe@duq.edu

Research Areas: Bioinformatics, Evolutionary Biology, Genetics, Genomics, Infectious Disease Dynamics, Microbiology

Allison O'Donnell

Dr. Allyson O'Donnell
Assistant Professor
Alpha-arrestin regulation of protein trafficking

Email: odonne15@duq.edu

Research Areas: Cell Biology, Cell Signaling, Genetics, Molecular Biology

Dr. Jana Patton-Vogt

Dr. Jana Patton-Vogt
Associate Professor
Molecular genetics of phospholipid metabolism in Saccharomyces cerevisiae.

Office Phone: 412.396.1053
Email: pattonvogt@duq.edu

Research Areas: Cell Biology, Cell Signaling, Genetics, Molecular Biology

Dr. John Archie Pollock
Professor
Multi-gene analysis of neural fate determination: Signal transduction to transcriptional regulation in the developing fly eye.

Office Phone: 412.396.5565
Cell Phone: 412.855.4043
Email: pollock@duq.edu
Website: www.duq.edu/pain

Dr. Brady Porter
Associate Professor
Genetics of natural populations, evolution, molecular ecology of fishes.

Office Phone: 412.396.5786
Email: porterb@duq.edu

Research Areas: Behavior, Bioinformatics, Climate Chagne and Global Warming, Ecology, Environmental Biology, Evolutionary Biology, Genomics, Phylogenetics, Population Genetics

Dr. Michael Seaman
Associate Professor
Molecular evolution and population genetics of primates, genome evolution.

Office Phone: 412.396.4597
Email: seamanm@duq.edu
Website: www.scienceresearch.duq.edu/bio/biofac/mseaman/

Research Areas: Behavior, Bioinformatics, Evolutionary Biology, Genetics, Genomics, Phylogenetics, Population Genetics

Dr. Kyle Selcer
Associate Professor
Role of estrogens and androgens in reproduction and cancer.

Office Phone: 412.396.5967
Email: selcer@duq.edu

Research Areas: Biomedical Biology, Cell Biology, Cell Signaling, Ecology, Evolutionary Biology, Physiology, Population Genetics, Systems Biology

Dr. John F. Stolz
Director, Center for Environmental Research and Education
Professor

Environmental microbiology, anaerobic respiration, biomineralization, and bioremediation.

Office Phone: 412.396.6333
Email: stolz@duq.edu
Website: www.scienceresearch.duq.edu/bio/biofac/jstolz/

Research Areas: Bacteriology, Climate Change and Global Warming, Ecology, Environmental Biology, Evolutionary Biology, Genomics, Marine Biology, Microbiology

Dr. Nancy Trun
Associate Professor
Chromosome folding in bacteria and application-based service learning (ABSL) as an educational model.

Office Phone: 412.396.1853
Email: trun@duq.edu

Research Areas: Bacteriology, Genetics, Microbiology, Molecular Biology

Dr. Sarah Woodley
Associate Professor

Effects of Environmental Stressors on Amphibian Reproduction and Health; Neuroendocrinology of Chemical Communication.

Office Phone: 412.396.6320
Email:  woodleys@duq.edu

Research Areas: Behavior, Environmental Biology, Neurobiology, Physiology, Systems Biology