A A Email Print Share

Distinguished Nursing Alumni

The School of Nursing has provided nursing education since 1937 and is continuing its tradition of being a critical link to healthier communities and a source of pride for Pittsburgh and beyond. We have prepared leaders, locally and globally, to positively impact health and advocate for the oppressed and vulnerable. We are indeed fortunate to have accomplished clinicians, executives, faculty, and deans among our alumni who are leaders in the nursing discipline. Please join me in congratulating these distinguished alumni.

Mary Ellen Smith Glasgow, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Dean and Professor

Anne R. Bavier, PhD, RN, FAAN
Susan Beck Larson, PhD, APRN, AOCN, FAAN
Dr. Anne Bavier

PhD 2003

Dean, University of Texas, Arlington

President of the NLN

Dr. Anne Bavier is among the nation's pre-eminent leaders in nursing education. Her extraordinary vision and commitment ensures "that nurse educators have access to the best resources, the most current research, the newest techniques, and the encouragement needed to create the best teaching-learning environments."

Susan Beck LarsonBSN 1974 

Oncology Nursing Society Nurse Researcher of the Year 2012
Mary Ann Cantrell, PhD, RN, CNE
Rita Carty, DNSc, RN, FAAN
Mary Ann Cantrell

BSN 1983

Professor, Villanova University School of Nursing

Inducted into the American Academy of Nursing 2015

Rita CartyBSN 1965

Former Dean, School of Nursing, George Mason University

Past President, American Association of Colleges of Nursing

Kathy Czekanski, PhD, RN, CNE
Judy Didion, PhD, MSN, RN

Kathy Czekanski PhD 2007

Dean and Associate Professor, LaSalle University School of Nursing and Helath Sciences

Judy DidionPhD 2007

Dean, Oakland University School of Nursing
James Doelling MS, BSN, RN
Maryann Fralic, DrPH, RN, FAAN
James Doelling

BSN 1988

Associate Director, Patient Care Services/Nurse Executive at the VA Greater Los Angeles Healthcare System

"I am so thankful for my time at Duquesne. I grew tremendously as a person and obtained so much confidence and pride. I will be forever appreciative."

Maryann FralicBSN 1960

Former Chief Nursing Officer, Professor Director, Corporate and Foundation Relations, John Hopkins University

Duquesne Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni

Faye Grund, PhD, APRN
Sr. Louise Grundish, MEd, MNEd, BSN, RN
Faye Grund

PhD 2013

Dean and Administrative Officer, Ashland University
Sr. Louise Grundish

BSN, MEd 1963

Current President of Archivists of Congregations of Womens Religions (ACWR)

Chair of the Sisters of Charity of Seton Hill Bicentennial Committee - celebrating the foundation of Sisters of Charity in the United States by St. Elizabeth Ann Seton in 1809

Diane Hupp, MSN, RN
Barbara Karaktkey Colin, MSN, BSN, RN
Diane Hupp

BSN 1987, MSN 1995

Vice President and Chief Nursing Officer, Childrens Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC

Barbara Colin

BSN 1971

Chief Nursing Officer, Bayada Nurses, Moorestown, NJ
Mary (Mallie) Kozy, PhD, APRN, BC, RN
Leah Laffey, DNP, RN
Mary (Mallie) Kozy

PhD 2007

Dean, Linfield College School of Nursing, Portland, OR
Leah Laffey

BSN 1984, MSN 1987, DNP 2010

CEO, HealthSouth Rehabilitation Hospital of Sewickley

Richard Longo, RN, FACHE, FACMPE
Stephanie Kopp Marshall, MSN, RN, FAAN
Richard Longo

BSN 1975

Healthcare Consultant

Stephanie Marshall

BSN 1975

Director for Community Partnerships for the School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene at the University of Hawai‘i at Manoa

Carolynn Masters, PhD, RN
Maribeth McLaughlin, MPM, BSN, RN

Carolynn MastersPhD 2000

Former Provost and Academic Vice President of Gannon University in Erie, PA

Maribeth McLaughlinBSN 1985

Vice President of Women's Health for UPMC and Vice President of Operations, Magee-Women's Hospital of UPMC
Denise McNulty, DNP, RN
Diane Mead, BSN, RN
Denise McNulty

DNP 2010

Chief Nursing Officer, Park Royal Hospital

Diane MeadBSN 1989

President and CEO, Bethany Hospice

Ramona Nelson, PhD, RN-BC, ANEF, FAAN
Wendy Robinson, PhD, RN, FNP-BC,CNE

Ramona NelsonBSN 1966

Professor Emerita, Slippery Rock University

President, Ramona Nelson Consulting

Wendy RobinsonMSN 2008, PhD 2012

President/CEO, Helene Fuld College of Nursing
Andrea Schmid-Mazzoccoli, Phd, RN, FAAN
Gretchen Schumacher, PhD, GNP-C, FNP, NP-C
Andrea Mazzoccoli

BSN, MBA 1997

Chief Nursing Officer, Bon Secours Health System

Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow

Gretchen Schumacher

PhD 2006

Director of Nurse Practitioner Program,
Michigan State University

Member of Michigan Prescription Drug and Opioid Abuse Commission

Lori Schumacher Anderson, PhD, RN
Major General Kimberly Siniscalchi, MSN, BSN, RN

Lori SchumacherPhD 2004

Associate Dean Academic Affairs, Associate Professor, Georgia Health Sciences University


BSN 1979

Assistant Air Force Surgeon General, Medical Force Development

Assistant Air Force Surgeon General, Nursing Services

Amy Smith, DNP, RN
Marlaine C. Smith, PhD, RN, AHN-BC, FAAN
Amy Smith

DNP 2012

Chief Operating Officer, Sharon Regional Health System

Marlaine Smith BSN 1972

Dean and Helen K. Persson Eminent Scholar for the Christine E. Lynn College of Nursing, Florida Atlantic University
Mary Ellen Smith Glasgow, PhD, RN, ANEF, FAAN
Allison Squires, PhD, RN, FAAN

Mary Ellen Smith GlasgowPhD 2002

Dean and Professor, Duquesne University School of Nursing

Former Robert Wood Johnson Executive Nurse Fellow

Allison Squires

MSN 1999

Assistant Professor, New York University

Deputy Director, International Education & Visiting Scholars

Suzan Ulrich, DrPH, CNM, FACNM
Patricia Valoon, MSN, RN

Suzan UlrichBSN 1976

Assistant Dean for Graduate Nursing Programs, St. Catherine University

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Executive Nurse Fellow

Patricia Valoon

MSN 1965

Retired, Senior Administrator and Chief Nursing Officer, New York University Langone Medical Center
Sister Carol Zupancic, MSN, BSN, RN

Sr. Carol ZupancicBSN 1975

Former Vice President of Nursing at St. Francis Hospital

In Memory...

Sr. Mary Jean Flaherty
Sr. Mary Jean Flaherty, PhD, RN, FAAN

(1927 - 2015)

  • Former Dean, The Catholic University of America