A A Email Print Share

Meet the PhD Faculty

NAME

RESEARCH EXPERTISE

Rebecca ChiaLichun (Rebecca) Chia, PhD, RN

chial@duq.edu

412.396.4102

  • Chronic diseases self-management (with emphases of adults/older adults with diabetes and cardiovascular disease risks)
  • Patient-centered care/medical home
  • Behavioral intervention utilizing health information technology (HIT)
  • Adherence (medication and life-style modifications)
  • Healthcare disparities

Alison ColbertAlison Colbert, PhD, APRN, BC

colberta@duq.edu

412.396.1511

  • Community health, incarcerated adults, health literacy
  • HIV/AIDS/infectious disease, adherence, health promotion and care in vulnerable populations
  • Patient engagement

Sr. Rosemary DonleySister Rosemary Donley, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN

donleyr@duq.edu

412.396.6555

  • Vulnerable populations
  • Social justice
  • Health policy
  • Nursing education
  • Chronic illness

Linda GarandLinda Garand, PhD, GCNS-BC

garandl@duq.edu

412.396.6543

  • Intervention studies
  • Randomized controlled trails
  • Feasibility studies
  • Prevention research
  • Mental health of family caregivers of persons with dementia
  • Mental health of family caregivers of Veterans with traumatic brain injury
  • Geriatric nursing research
  • Mental health research

Mary Ellen GlasgowMary Ellen Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC, FAAN

glasgowm@duq.edu

412.396.6553

  • Nursing education innovation
  • Inter-professional simulation
  • Bone marrow donation
  • Oncology
  • Leadership

Linda GoodfellowLinda Goodfellow, PhD, RN, FAAN

goodfellow@duq.edu

  • Complementary therapies
  • Oncology
  • Caregiver stress
  • Psychoneuroimmunology
  • Health promotion
  • Intervention research
  • ETDs knowledge and use
  • Ethical considerations in nursing research

Karen JakubKaren Jakub, PhD, RN

jakubk@duq.edu

412.396.6535

  • Chronic heart disease
  • Qualitative research methods
  • Technology interventions for cardiac arrhythmias

Melissa KalarchianMelissa Kalarchian, PhD

kalarchianm@duq.edu

412.396.5204

  • Obesity and bariatric surgery
  • Behavioral lifestyle intervention
  • Psychosocial functioning
  • Health behaviors
  • Clinical studies

Patricia Watts KelleyPatricia Watts Kelley, PhD RN, FNP, GNP, FAANP

kelleyp@duq.edu

412.396.2070

  • Clinical knowledge development and continuity of care of wounded service members
  • Evidence based practice, health promotion and diabetes self-care management
  • Nursing retention and recruitment

Becky KronkRebecca Kronk, PhD, MSN, CRNP

kronkr@duq.edu

412.396.2288

  • Genetics education in nursing
  • Health outcomes of nursing students
  • Sleep in vulnerable pediatric populations (i.e. Fragile X syndrome, autism)
  • Community service learning
  • Relationship of sleep on daytime functioning in various populations of children
  • Grandparents raising grandchildren

Joan LockhartJoan Such Lockhart, PhD, RN, CORLN, AOCN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN

lockhart@duq.edu

412.396.6540

  • Improving health outcomes in vulnerable populations related to chronic illness, especially cancer care:
    - Primary and secondary prevention (oncology)
    - Nursing education, professional (staff and leadership) development; distance education
    - Qualitative & quantitative methods

Khlood SalmanKhlood Salman, DrPH, RN

salmank@duq.edu

412.396.1509

  • Immigrant and refugee women's health promotion and disease prevention
  • Breast cancer and cervical cancer prevention among minority women
  • Global and international health studies
  • Environmental health
  • Interfaith dialogue studies

Kathy SekulaKathleen Sekula, PhD, APRN

sekula@duq.edu

412.396.4865

  • Vulnerable populations
  • Psychiatric implications in forensic nursing
  • Victims of violence
  • Domestic violence
  • Sexual assault
  • Forensic nursing

Lynn SimkoLynn Simko, PhD, RN, CCRN

simko@duq.edu

412.396.5096

  • Quality of life
  • Congenital heart disease
  • Intensive care nursing
  • Simulation and student outcomes
  • Pain research
  • Adults with congenital heart disease

Melanie TurkMelanie Turk, PhD, RN

turkm@duq.edu

412.396.1817

  • Behavioral treatment of obesity
  • Weight loss and maintenance
  • Behavior change for health promotion among vulnerable populations

Eric VogelsteinEric Vogelstein, PhD

vogelsteine@duq.edu

412.396.4466

  • Ethical issues in advanced directives
  • Decision making capacity/competence
  • Surrogate decision making
  • Prenatal life
  • Ethics expertise and ethics consultation
  • Medical enhancement
  • Physician assisted dying
  • Autonomy and paternalism

Rick ZouchaRick Zoucha, PhD, APRN-BC, CTN-A, FAAN

zoucha@duq.edu

412.396.6545

  • Community based research
  • Psychiatric nursing
  • Transcultural/international nursing
  • Cultural competence/Mexican Americans, African Americans, refugee/immigrants and their health needs