A A Email Print Share

Faculty Research Interests

PhD and DNP Faculty

Alison Colbert, PhD, APRN, BC
colberta@duq.edu
Community health
Incarcerated adults
Health literacy
HIV/AIDS/infectious disease
Adherence
Health promotion and care in vulnerable populations
Patient engagement
Mark Crider, PhD, MSN, BS
criderm@duq.edu
Community mental health
Psycho-social rehabilitation
Chronic mental illness
Health policy
Leadership development and professions
Alicia Culleiton, DNP, RN, CNE Clinical pedagogies for faculty and nursing staff
Student remediation
NCLEX
EBP initiatives
Jessica Devido
devidoj@duq.edu
Sister Rosemary Donley, PhD, APRN-BC, FAAN
donleyr@duq.edu
Vulnerable populations
Social justice
Nursing education
Chronic illness
Mary Ellen Smith Glasgow, PhD, RN, ACNS-BC
glasgowm@duq.edu 
Nursing education innovation
Inter-professional simulation
Bone marrow donation
Oncology
Leadership
Linda Goodfellow, PhD, RN
goodfellow@duq.edu
Complementary therapies
Oncology nursing
Caregiver stress
Psychoneuroimmunology
Health promotion
Intervention research
ETDs knowledge and use
Mary Elizabeth Guimond, PhD, WHNP-BC
guimondm@duq.edu
Evaluation of educational technologies in nursing education
Women’s health/obstetrics (adolescent STI, cancer screening, menopause)
Karen Jakub, MSN, BSN, RN
jakubk@duq.edu
Chronic heart disease
Qualitative research methods
Technology interventions for cardiac arrhythmias
Linda Koharchik DNP, MSN, CNA-BC
koharchikl@duq.edu
Medical-surgical nursing
Nursing administration 
Evidence-based nursing practice
Safe practice by nursing students
Rebecca Kronk, PhD, CRNP
kronkr@duq.edu
Sleep in children
Vulnerable pediatric populations (i.e. Fragile X syndrome)
Autism
Gradparents raising their grandchildren
Joan Such Lockhart, PhD, RN, CORLN, AOCN, CNE, ANEF, FAAN
lockhart@duq.edu
Health promotion/early detection (chronic disease - cancer/heart disease)
Vulnerable, high-risk, culturally diverse populations
Nursing education
Mary Kay Loughran
loughranm@duq.edu
Denise Lucas, PhD, RN, CRNP
lucasd2495@duq.edu
Women
Working women who remain poor
The uninsured
Well-being
Learned resourcefulness
Sister Mary Meyers
meyersm1@duq.edu
Lenore Resick, PhD, RN, CRNP, FNP-BC, NP-C
resick@duq.edu
Vulnerable populations
Culturally diverse groups
Russian and Iraqi refugee women
Older adults
Older African Americans and wellness
Health of immigrant/refugee families
Appalachian culture 
Women’s health issues
Environmental health issues
Khlood Salman, Dr.PH, RN
salmank@duq.edu
Health promotion and disease prevention related to chronic diseases, focusing specifically on women's health issues (such as cancer screening) and health issues associated with immigrant and refugee status.
Global/international health issues
Environmental health
Interfaith dialogue studies
Kathleen Sekula, PhD, APRN
sekula@duq.edu
Vulnerable populations
Victims of violence
Domestic violence
Sexual assault
Lynn Simko, PhD, RN, CCRN
simko@duq.edu
Quality of life
Congenital heart disease
Intensive care nursing
Simulation and student outcomes
Quantitative research
Pain research
Melanie Turk, PhD, RN
turkm@duq.edu
Obesity, weight loss and maintenance
Health promotion 
CVD risk reduction
Cindy Walters, DNP, MSN, RN
walters362@duq.edu
Forensic nursing
Holistic nursing
Community health and wellness
 Yvonne Weideman, DNP,  MSN, RN
weidemany@duq.edu
Grandparents raising their grandchildren
Service learning/community engaged research and scholarship
Virtual characters/patients
Wound skin ostomies
Rick Zoucha, DNSc, APRN
zoucha@duq.edu
Community based research
Psychiatric nursing
Transcultural/international nursing
Cultural competence/Mexican Americans and
African Americans
Refugee/immigrants health needs
Nancy Brom, MSN, RN
brom@duq.edu
Medical-surgical nursing
Clinical critical care
OB 
Teaching strategies
Leah Cunningham, MNEd, RN
cunningh@duq.edu
End of life issues in oncology nursing
Cervical cancer
International research
Gerontology
End of life
Palliative care
Curriculum design
Academic success initiatives
Testing support
Remediation
Carolyn Griffin, MSN, RN
griffinc1399@duq.edu
Diabetic care issues
Clinical research
Student evaluation
Goals outcomes
Nursing education
Rosanna Henry, MSN, RN
henryr@duq.edu
Skill acquisition
Simulation
Maureen Leonardo, MN, CNE, CRNP, BC
leonardo@duq.edu
Older adult and primary care - clinical research
Health and wellness
Academic health centers
Debra Lewis, MSN, RN, CPN
lewisd@duq.edu
Simulation
NCLEX
Nursing education
Pediatrics