A A Email Print Share

Saint Barnabas Residency Accredited by ASHP

Mylan School of Pharmacy

The postgraduate year one pharmacy (PGY-1) residency program at Duquesne University Mylan School of Pharmacy/Saint Barnabas Health System has been granted a six-year accreditation by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (ASHP) and the American Pharmacists Association (APhA). ASHP is the only nationally recognized non-governmental, non-profit pharmacy association that has been accrediting pharmacy residencies since 1962. Residency accreditation is an important driver for excellence, serving as a bridge between education and practice. This accreditation marked one the first few accreditation experiences for ASHP-APhA with a skilled-care focus. St. Barnabas Health System is one of our long-standing Academic Partners with the School of Pharmacy. They provide Duquesne University student pharmacists, faculty, residents and fellows with an opportunity to improve health outcomes in a geriatric population.

"Receiving a 6 year accreditation is quite a feat for a new program such as this," said the program's director, Dr. Christine O'Neil.

Duquesne University

Founded in 1878, Duquesne is consistently ranked among the nation's top Catholic research universities for its award-winning faculty and tradition of academic excellence. The University is nationally ranked by U.S. News and World Report and the Princeton Review for its rich academic programs in nine schools of study for nearly 10,000 graduate and undergraduate students, and by the Washington Monthly for service and contributing to students' social mobility. Duquesne is a member of the U.S. President's Higher Education Community Service Honor Roll with Distinction for its contributions to Pittsburgh and communities around the globe. The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency and the Princeton Review's Guide to Green Colleges acknowledge Duquesne's commitment to sustainability.