A A Email Print Share

Commuter Assistant Program

Each new freshman and transfer student is assigned a Commuter Assistant (CA) during their first year at Duquesne. Commuter Assistants are upperclassmen who serve as mentors to new students as they transition into college life. Each student is usually assigned a CA that is in the same school and sometimes even the same major as them.

In doing so, students should look to their CA as a great resource for them, not only about things related to commuting, but also academics and other aspects of student life. The CAs plan various programs and activities throughout the semester to get students involved on campus and encourage them to meet other people. Each CA holds weekly office hours in the Office of Commuter Affairs and is always available to meet with their students during that time.

Meet the Spring 2016 Commuter Assistants!

Name: Sarah AtwoodSarah Atwood
School: Bayer School of Natural & Environmental Sciences
Major: Biology (Minor: Biochemistry & Mathematics)
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: atwoods@duq.edu

Duquesne DName: Meaghan (Meg) Dugan
School: School of Education
Major: Middle Level Education
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: duganm@duq.edu

Alicia HurneyName: Alicia Hurney
School: Palumbo-Donahue School of Business
Major: Undecided Business
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Bon Air Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: hurneya@duq.edu

Austin KilheeneyName: Austin Kilheeney
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: Communications & Broadcasting
Year: Junior
Commutes From: South Oakland Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: kilheeneya@duq.edu

Paige McGuireName: Paige McGuire
School: Rangos School of Health Sciences
Major: Speech Pathology
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: mcguir12@duq.edu


Sevde Nur YasarName: Sevde Nur Yasar
School: Mylan School of Pharmacy
Major: Pharmacy
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Cranberry Township, PA
E-mail: yasars@duq.edu 

Ashlea-Anne RosnickName: Ashlea-Anne Rosnick
School: School of Education
Major: Early Childhood Education
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Mt. Lebanon, PA
E-mail: rosnicka@duq.edu

Ariana SampsonName: Ariana Sampson (Levendakis)
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: Psychology
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Peters Township, PA
E-mail: sampsona@duq.edu

Jennifer StipeName: Jennifer (Jen) Stipe
School: Rangos School of Health Sciences
Major: Physical Therapy
Year: 4th Year
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: stipej@duq.edu

Interested in Becoming a CA?

Check back later this semester to download an application for Fall 2016!