A A Email Print Share

Commuter Assistant Program

Each new freshman and transfer student is assigned a Commuter Assistant (CA) during their first year at Duquesne. Commuter Assistants are upperclassmen who serve as mentors to new students as they transition into college life. Each student is usually assigned a CA that is in the same school, and sometimes even the same major as them.

In doing so, students should look to their CA as being a great resource for them, not only about things related to commuting, but also academics and other aspects of student life as well. The CAs plan various programs and activities throughout the semester to get students involved on campus and encourage them to meet other people. Each CA holds weekly office hours in the Office of Commuter Affairs and is always available to meet with their students during that time.

Meet the Spring 2017 Commuter Assistants!

Name: Clare BaniganClare Banigan
School: School of Nursing
Major: Nursing
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Uptown Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: baniganc@duq.edu

Nicole BaroneName: Nicole Barone
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: Psychology
Year: Junior
Commutes From:  Sheridan Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: baronen2@duq.edu

Makayla GologramName: Makayla Gologram
School: Bayer School of Natural & Environmental Sciences
Major: Biology & Pre-Med
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Castle Shannon, PA
E-mail: gologramm@duq.edu

Austin KilheeneyName: Austin Kilheeney
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: Communications & Broadcasting
Year: Senior
Commutes From: South Oakland Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: kilheeneya@duq.edu

Sara RobertoName: Sara Roberto
School: School of Education 
Major: Elementary Education Pre-K-4
Year: Sophomore
Commutes From: Baldwin Borough, PA
E-mail: robertos@duq.edu

Meet the Spring 2017 South Side Commuter Assistants!

Ashlea-Anne RosnickName: Erin Hayden
School: Mylan School of Pharmacy
Major: Pharmacy
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: haydene@duq.edu

Ariana SampsonName: Paige McGuire
School: Rangos School of Health Sciences
Major: Speech-Pathology
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: mcguir12@duq.edu

Jennifer StipeName: Jennifer (Jen) Stipe
School: Rangos School of Health Sciences
Major: Physical Therapy
Year: 5th Year
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: stipej@duq.edu

Interested in Becoming a CA?

Check back in Spring 2017 to download an application for the Fall 2017 semester!