A A Email Print Share

Commuter Assistant Program

Each new freshman and transfer student is assigned a Commuter Assistant (CA) during their first year at Duquesne. Commuter Assistants are upperclassmen who serve as mentors to new students as they transition into college life. Each student is usually assigned a CA that is in the same school, and sometimes even the same major as them.

In doing so, students should look to their CA as being a great resource for them, not only about things related to commuting, but also academics and other aspects of student life as well. The CAs plan various programs and activities throughout the semester to get students involved on campus and encourage them to meet other people. Each CA holds weekly office hours in the Office of Commuter Affairs and is always available to meet with their students during that time.

Meet the Fall 2017 Commuter Assistants!


Name: Nicole Barone
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: Psychology
Year: Senior
Commutes From:  Sheridan Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: baronen2@duq.edu

Name: Adam Dehm
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: Sociology & Psychology
Year: Sophmore
Commutes From: Bethel Park, PA
E-mail: dehma@duq.edu

Erin HaydenName: Erin Hayden
School: School of Pharmacy
Major: Pharmacy
Year: 5thYear
Commutes From: Mt. Oliver Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: haydene1@duq.edu

Name: Julie McFall
School: Palumbo and Donahue School of Business
Major: Supply Chain Managment
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Lower Burrel, PA
E-mail: dehma@duq.edu

Name: Paige Michael
School: Palumbo and Donahue School of Business
Major: Supply Chain Managment
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Cheswick, PA
E-mail: michaelp1@duq.edu

Name: ShiouWeei Ong
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: International Relations
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Monroeville, PA
E-mail:ongs@duq.edu

Name: Nikola Ranick
School: McAnulty College and Graduate School of Liberal Arts
Major: Undeclared
Year: Sophmore
Commutes From: Mt. Lebanon, PA
E-mail: ranickn@duq.edu

Name: Ashlea-Anne Rosnick
School: School of Education
Major: Early Childhood Education
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Mt. Lebanon, PA
E-mail: rosnicka@duq.edu

Name: Sara Roberto
School: School of Education 
Major: Elementary Education Pre-K-4
Year: Junior
Commutes From: Green Tree, PA
E-mail: robertos@duq.edu

Name: Nicholas Styen
School: School of Nursing 
Major: Nursing
Year: Senior
Commutes From: BrookLine Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: synenn@duq.edu

Meet the Spring 2017 South Side Commuter Assistants!

Name: Jack Grieb
School: School of Pharmacy
Major: Pharmacy
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: griebj@duq.edu

Name: Brenna Moriarity 
School: School of Pharmacy
Major: Pharmacy
Year: Senior
Commutes From: Southside Neighborhood of Pittsburgh
E-mail: moriarityb@duq.edu

Interested in Becoming a CA?

Commuter Assistant applications for the Fall semester:

Commuter Assistant

South Side Commuter Assistant