A A Email Print Share



On November 19, 1990, handwritten notes reort that the Executive Board met with Dean Kumer in the Music School who wanted to change the way scholarships were awarded.  The Executive Board met with Dr. M. to discuss the role of DUWAB, the scholarship question, and the continued sponsorship of the President's luncheon.

On January 28, 1991, Fran Logue and MJG reported on their meeting with Dr. M.  Dr. M's suggested that a senior be hte recipient of the WAB scholarship and that a WAB member be on the "selection board and share in the scholarship decision."  Dr. M. recommended that the University would assume the responsibilities of hte President's luncheon so that we could use all our funds for the senior scholarship.

On February 18, 1991 Dean Kumer discussed the new scholarship format.  The Board drafted guidelines defining the senior scholarship for the April 15 meeting.  The guidelines are:

         1.  The Scholarship shall be awarded for excellence in Music.

         2.  The Scholarship shall be awarded to an incoming Senior who has completed his/her sophomore and junior year at DU.

         3.   The Scholarship shall be awarded to a student chosen by an outside jury of three impartial judges with no affiliation to DU.  The judges are to be suggested by the Dean of the School of Music with the assistance and approval of the WAB.  The Dean of the School of Music and the President of WAB or a designated member shall be present at the competition.

         4.  Publicity is to be promoted before the awarding of the Scholarship and afterwards.

         5.  The students for the Schholarship Competition are to be chosen by the Dean of the School of Music and his Scholarship selection committee.


The WAB awards scholarships and awards to music students, women in graduate programs, and other needs that fit our mission.

Thank you notes from two students in the School of Business 2014:

My name is Tara Llewellyn, and I had the immense honor of receiving the Women's Advisory Board scholarship in the amount of $2000 this spring. A simple letter could not express my gratitude. This award has already given me opportunities that would otherwise be unattainable.

I sincerely appreciate you considering and presenting me with this award, and I hope I can continue to meet and exceed the expectations of Duquesne School of Business as well as the Women's Advisory Board.

With gratitude,

Tara E. Llewellyn


Women's Advisory Board,

I want to thank you for awarding me the Scholarship. College is a huge expense, and this scholarship will help with those costs. I really appreciate it

Julie Wetzel

School of Music Competition

Thank you note from 2014 Music Competition Winner:  James Austin Allen

Dear Women's Advisory Board,

I wanted to take a moment and thank all of you for the incredible opportunity and gift you have given me through the women's advisory competition. It was an honor playing alongside all of my fellow musicians as we have had the opportunity to learn and grow side by side for the last three years.
The competition was an exciting way to begin the end of a long but fruitful year and the scholarship will help immensely in the year to come.
Thank you for those of you I was allowed to perform for and I hope to be able to meet and play for many more of you in the year to come.
Once again thank you for this truly gracious gift. Have a wonderful rest of the year.

James Austin Allen






Over 40 people gathered to listen to Austin James, Women's Advisory Board Scholarship Recipient, play on Thursday, July 24, 2014 at 5:30 p.m. in the Mary Pappert School of Music.  James's concert lasted more than 30 minutes.   The crowd then proceeded to the a private reception ata the Red Ring Restaurant.  Members brought guests.  The wonderful food was enjoyed by all.  Throughout the evening, Kamie Shoonhoven provided a video for our entertainment.   

Thank you to Kathy Connelly, Ann Heinauer and Courtney Cox.   Thank you to our members for your support.  And thank you to our new friends.  We hope to see you again.


Each year, the Women's Advisory Board holds an undergraduate music scholarship competition open to students in their Junior year at the Mary Pappert School of Music.

The winner of the competition receives a major ($10,000 or more) tuition scholarship, and performs at the annual WAB fundraiser. A runner-up winner(s) may also be chosen for a partial tuition scholarship at the discretion of the judges.

Past winners of the competition

1980 David Budway Piano
1981 Paul Sisco Piano
1982 Beth Boisvert Euphonium
1983 James Armstrong Trombone
1984 Timothy McFadden Trumpet
1985 Robert Morrison Trombone
1986 Melissa Unger Flute
1987 Christopher Brown Percussion
1988 Marjorie McClean Voice
1989 Amy Orsinger Flute
1990 Marjorie McClean Voice
1991 Don Aliquo Saxophone
1992 Shawn Purcell Guitar
1993 Christopher Thomas Jazz Guitar

John Caputo

Brett Dietz



1995 Julian Ayers Trombone
1996 Gabriel D'Abbruzzo Piano
1997 Elizabeth Keadle Harp
1998 Shawn Galvin Percussion
1999 Bo Cheng Harp
2000 Lisa Pegher Percussion
2001 Emily Doerfel Voice
2002 Kirk Ferguson Trombone
2003 Anne Berry Cello
2004 Michael Dingfelder Euphonium
2005 Rachel Joseph Harp
2006 Catherine Schaefer Piano
2007 Dmitri Koval Piano
2008 Xiao-Yuan Huang Piano


 John R. Sullivan



Devin Di Mauro 



 Leigh Poulton



 Brennan Elliott

 Classical Guitar


 Yuting Zhou



 James Austin Allen


Women in Graduate Programs

Additional monies raised are given to the Deans of Schools as follows:

  • 2008 Pharmacy & Liberal Arts
  • 2009 Music & Nursing
  • 2010 Natural and Environmental Science & Education
  • 2011 Law & Health Science
  • 2012 Business & Leadership and Professional Advancement

While the Board prefers to see scholarships given to women in graduate programs, these awards can be dispersed at the Deans' discretion.


Remaining monies will be distributed to other campus philanthropic acts in accordance with our mission.